Back

The Back button is a multipurpose button. The default action for the Back button is that it will quit whatever is on the screen. Usually that means it will go back to the previous screen, go back to the previous web site, or quit the app and go back to the Home screen.

That's the default action, but programmers are free to override it. That means sometimes you might think you've quit an app when really you've just gone to the Home screen while leaving the app on in the background. This isn't always a bad thing. You want alarm clocks and e-mail programs to still work in the background.

However, there are some apps you'll need to explicitly close through the menu rather than just using the Back button. If you notice memory problems or abnormal battery use, check to make sure you don't have resource-hogging apps running after you thought you'd quit them.

0 0

Post a comment