Figure 518

Enter the URL for the web page that you want to use as your home page, and touch OK to save it.

Privacy Settings

Privacy is a big deal on the Internet, including the mobile web. You don't want other people to have access to your personal information or be able to track your movements while you're online.

The first three options in the Privacy Settings section of the Settings menu— Clear Cache, Clear History, and Accept Cookies—are options that you can use to protect your privacy. Touch Clear Cache and Clear History to remove past web pages and cookies from your browser cache. This makes it harder for others to track your movements online.

Enable or disable Accept Cookies to accept or decline cookie data. Cookies are small snippets of data that websites place in your browser cache to help them recognize you when you navigate to them. This is how Amazon.com always knows who you are, even when you're not technically signed into your account. It's also how many websites remember your personalization settings, and how they know what pages you visit while you're on their site. Declining cookies removes some of the personalization from your browsing experience, but it also keeps you safe if you're worried about your online movements being tracked.

If you want to clear your cookie data, you can select the Clear All Cookie Data option. This opens a confirmation window. Select OK to clear the data or Cancel to return to the Settings menu without clearing the data. The final two options in this section of the menu relate to form data. Form data is the information that you enter into forms on the Web. This includes your name, usernames, passwords, addresses, and other information that might be requested when you're filling out a form online. Entering that information from a mobile device can be time consuming, so the browser has the option to Remember Form Data. Select this option to enable it, or deselect to disable it. If you deselect the option, you'll need to enter form data each time you encounter a form.

You can clear the form data at any time by selecting the Clear Form Data option. When you touch this option, a confirmation window appears prompting you to confirm that you want to clear the data. Touch OK to clear it and Cancel to return to the settings menu.

Security Settings

You'll find only three options in the Security Settings section of the menu. Two of these options relate to passwords. You can choose to remember website passwords by selecting the Remember Passwords options, or you can turn off this option by deselecting it.

Because passwords change, you might need to clear the passwords that you have stored and reenter them. Touch the Clear Passwords option to remove all the passwords that you have stored. The next time you enter a password-protected website, you'll be prompted to enter your password again. But if you have the Remember Passwords option enabled, you won't be prompted to enter it on subsequent visits. Also, you'll receive a confirmation message before the passwords are cleared. Touch OK to clear the passwords and Cancel to return to the menu without clearing them.

The other option in Security Settings is Show Security Warnings. If this option is enabled and you try to enter a website that has problems with a security certificate, you'll see a warning about the site. When it's disabled, you'll receive no warnings. If you want to be sure that you always know the website you're surfing is safe, leave this option enabled.

Advanced Settings

The last section of the Settings menu includes three advanced settings that you might find useful. Two of the settings relate to Google Gears, a browser extension that enables developers to create browser-based applications that can run offline. For example, some databases can run within a browser, but Google Gears can make it possible to run that database within the browser, even when your device is not signed in online.

To enable or disable Google Gears on your device, touch the Enable Gears option. The other Gears option is Gears Settings. Touch this option to open a window that shows a table of the sites that you have granted permission to use Gears. At this time, Gears isn't commonly used, so your list might be small or even nonexistent (see Figure 5.19). In the future, however, as more developers take advantage of Gears, that list will grow.

The last option in the Settings menu is Reset to Default. This option clears all your browser data—including bookmarks, passwords, and all the settings that you have personalized—and returns everything to the original settings that your browser had when you first turned on the device. Use this option only if you're sure that you want to completely reset your browser. When you touch the Reset to Default option, you'll receive a confirmation message. Select OK to reset everything and Cancel to return to the Settings page.

The browser has more capabilities than you might expect when you first open it. But because Android is designed to take full advantage of the Web on a mobile level, you should expect no less. Still, some people find that the browser isn't quite what they're looking for. For those people, Opera Mini is available in Android Market as an alternative to the browser that's prein-stalled on the G1. If you're an Opera user, you might be more comfortable with the Mini than with the Android browser.

Remember passwords

Save usernarnes arid passwords for Web sites

Q Gears Settings

The table below shows the permissions you have granted to each site that has attempted to use Gears,

Gears version 0,4.23,0

Reset to default

Clear all browser data and reset all seitmgs to default

0 0

Post a comment