Documents To Go Desktop with Documents To Go Full version

The Documents To Go Desktop application must be installed in order to facilitate synchronization. When installed, Windows users can easily sync files between their computer and device via USB cable. Once the files are set to sync, any edits made will automatically be transferred upon synchronization.

Note: Desktop synchronization is a separate add-on for Documents To Go that is part of Documents To Go Full version 3. If you are using version 2 of Documents To Go Full or are using the Viewer Edition, refer to the other file transfer options detailed in this guide.

System Requirements

• Handheld OS: Android 1.5 or higher

• 10.0 MB of free device memory to install the applications

Installation

To synchronize your desktop files with your Android device, you will need to first download and install the Documents To Go Desktop application to your Windows computer.

To download the desktop application, go to this website: http://www.dataviz.com/getdesktop

Setup & Pairing

After installing the Documents To Go desktop application you will be automatically prompted to pair your computer with your device. Before you begin the pairing process, please confirm the following:

• You have connected your device to the desktop via USB cable.

• Your device's storage is mounted on your PC (refer to the previous section entitled "USB Storage Mode" for steps).

• Documents To Go is open on the device.

Adding Folders & Files

To use files on your Android device you must first add them to Documents To Go on your desktop computer and then synchronize. During the synchronization, a copy of the folder and file will be created in Documents To Go on your device.

With the program opened on the desktop, you can add files by clicking the Add Folder button to browse for and select the folder that contains the files you would like to synchronize to your device.

After selecting the folder you would like to synchronize, you will be presented with a list of all the supported items that exist within that folder. By default all items inside the folder will be synchronized, however you may uncheck any item that you don't want to sync to your device.

Removing Folders & Files

In order to remove a folder from Documents To Go (and remove it from your device during the next synchronization) perform the following steps:

1. Open the Documents To Go Desktop program on your computer.

2. Highlight the folder and click the Remove Folder button.

Note: Deleting a document from either the Documents To Go application on the desktop or the Android device will NOT delete the file from its original location on the computer. It will only remove the link that was established between the file and Documents To Go.

Folder List

All of the folders that you have added to the Documents To Go Desktop application will be listed in the main application window. A header above the list shows the Folder name, the directory path that this folder exists within and the size of the all of the items that are set for synchronization within the folder.

Please note that if a large number of files are set to sync, you will be presented with a warning. It is not recommended that you set your entire My Documents folder or Desktop folder to sync.

"My DocsToGo " Folder

During your initial setup of the Documents To Go Desktop application, a shortcut/alias titled My DocsToGo was added to your desktop. This folder is automatically setup for synchronization to your device. This allows you to add individual files to this folder to sync without having to add an entire folder. The My DocsToGo folder has been created in your My Documents folder on Windows.

Synchronization

Each time you synchronize, Documents To Go will automatically update your files on either your device or desktop. In the case where updates occur to a document on both the device and the desktop, Documents To Go will place a duplicate of each file on both the device and the desktop. All synchronized files and folders will be saved in a specific folder on your Device Memory or Media Card. The title of this folder is DocumentsToGoDesktop. This folder shouldn't be renamed, deleted or moved as this will cause synchronization to fail.

If a file that is added to the desktop application is stored on removable media or a disconnected server, make sure you log onto the server or insert the media before synchronization.

Synchronization with Multiple Desktops

Documents To Go has the ability to synchronize with multiple desktop computers. The files and folders synchronized with each computer are kept in their own library on the device. These libraries are synchronized separately and are not shared between each desktop. To synchronize a document from one library to another, you can save a copy to a folder synching with another desktop using the Save As option available when viewing a document.

To setup a new desktop, download and install the Documents To Go Desktop application for Android on the additional computer (it is not necessary to install the Documents To Go Files app to the device a second time):

http://www.dataviz.com/products/documentstogo/android/desktop.html

Once the desktop application is installed, run the Documents To Go Desktop application and follow the prompts to add a new device pairing.

Preferences

In Preferences you can set the name of your desktop computer as it will appear in Documents To Go on your device. Preferences can be accessed through the Preferences menu item in the Documents To Go Desktop.

File Management

When Browsing within the Documents To Go handheld application, there are several file management options available in the toolbar, and the tap+hold contextual menus. You can delete files, create new files, and view file properties. Tip: While browsing a folder, the toolbar at the top can be dragged from side to side to reveal additional options.

Manage Desktops

In order to remove a pairing between your Android device and a desktop computer, choose Manage Desktops in the menu. From the Manage Desktops window, highlight the desktop pairing you would like to remove and from the menu choose Delete.

Note: All desktop files will be removed from this device. If you have recently made any changes to documents on your device, you should sync to update the desktop documents before removing this Desktop.

On the handheld, from the main Documents To Go screen, press the Menu button and choose Settings ^ Manage Desktops to access the option to remove your desktop pairing.

Synchronization Location

All synchronized files and folders will be saved in a specific folder on your Device Memory or Media Card. The title of this folder is DocumentsToGoDesktop. This folder shouldn't be renamed, deleted or moved as this will cause synchronization to fail.

Was this article helpful?

0 0

Responses

  • Leah
    Can I install Documents to Go on my Computer and sync it with my Phone?
    3 months ago

Post a comment